top of page

Just One Voice

"Well, I was writing some poetry the other day..."

"No way, that's awesome! I'd love to hear one of your poems sometime."

"Alright, I can tell you one right now."

"Go for it!"

Why does this dirt hurt so much

Why do I feel as though I've lost all touch

Is it something I control

Absolutely when I'm whole

What's wrong with them they all say

But they never spent a homeless day

It's tough I'll tell ya but press on

Because from the Spirit your strength is drawn

The struggle tends to make us wise

But realize that your worst day is still paradise

So if you feel like you want to whine

Just help somebody else out you'll be fine

(Permission was received from Johnny O. to share this poem)

This is a voice that people need to hear and it is only one out of many who are often silenced. I worry that people walking down the street make assumptions based on appearance and don't get to know those they pass by. It's easy to do. I know that I've done it. I urge you once again to take the time to acknowledge the faces you wouldn't normally look at.

We all have stories to share and it's important that they're not lost. I almost told Johnny that I had to get back to work and would listen to one of his poems the next time he was there. Wowwwwwwww, I sure am glad I didn't actually say that. I would have missed out on the opportunity to hear a small piece of someone's story. His words are powerful and have stuck with me each day.

That day I told Johnny to continue spreading his work to others. He shared his gift with me and now I'm passing it on to y'all. Johnny was excited for me to tell people about the words he recited that day. Not to mention, it was a chance for me to empower Johnny in his work. I've come to realize that encouraging one another in their skills and passions is extremely important, at any age. Everyone deserves a support system that is there to cheer them on. So, let us all go and find people to empower. Make it a goal to let the voiceless be heard. It's time to invest in the lives of those around you, even if you don't personally know them yet.

Watch this video because it's awesome and talks about how each of us can make an impact...

[Soul Pancake]. (2013, December 19). How to change the world (a work in progress). [Video File]. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4z7gDsSKUmU

Alrighty, y'all. Enough ramblin' for one day. Peace out!


  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Contact me below by sending an email! I'd love to hear from you! 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Check out my LinkedIn
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page