top of page

Simple Living

Pretty much everyone knows by now that I’ll be moving out to Denver, Colorado to be a Young Adult Volunteer (YAV) through the Presbyterian Church (USA). I’m very excited for this opportunity as I dedicate a year of my life to serving others. The YAV program focuses on simple living, social justice issues, and living in community with people.

Speaking of simple living…I’ve been thinking a lot about what I won’t have this upcoming year. I’ll have less of most things that I now have an abundance of it seems. A prime example is clothing. I’m getting on a train and then a plane, so I can only take what will fit in my two bags. Plus, my arms aren’t too strong and I’ve gotta carry those bags on a number of modes of transportation to get to my final destination.

Food is something I love. Many of you have seen me put the food away. It’s kinda a Witt thing, if you ask me. And we all know that there’s a short list of things that I can cook. I could probably cook a lot more things, but the list only contains the edible ones. During my college years (this sounds weird to say since it is now in the past) there were kind people who really provided for me when it came to meals. From Massanutten Presbyterian, to UKirk, to housemates, to friends who cooked for me…dang, I had it good. I really did. Not that I couldn’t fend for myself, because I could, but these people saw that I ate better when they helped me along.

Money…I’ll have less of that as well. And I’ll have fewer things. I’d like to think that I’m a fairly practical person. Shopping is not something I really enjoy, but it is necessary for food and what not. It’s funny though because I did realize that I will keep something with a purpose for it in my mind. I like to see the things that I have get used. However sometimes I tend to collect items, thinking they’ll be put to use. Back in my junior year of college at JMU (Go Dukes!), I had a practicum placement in a Pre-K classroom. I loved those little kids and had fun working with them. Anyways, we were talking about apples…typical…and I decided each child would make their own apple tree. For all you

educators out there, you’re probably wondering where the standards fit in and if this was just a stupid art project. Trust me, the standards were there. The kids had to cut, glue, work with colors, shapes, and write their name. So, ha! But back to my original point…I had collected a boat load of toilet paper rolls for this activity. There are a ton of projects out there that use toilet paper rolls so I decided I’d probably need more of them in the future. My family continued to collect the rolls for me and pass them along. I just knew I’d use them in another practicum placement or during student teaching. Guess what…I did not use them at all. Bet you didn’t see that one coming. I ended up giving them to somebody who needed them for a lesson they were doing. Worked out perfectly in the end! My point after rambling about all this is that I don’t like things, but I do find purpose in them. I’ll take trash and find treasure in it…as that saying sorta goes. So in a way I do kinda have a lot of stuff, mainly tucked away in all sorts of places in my bedroom.

Basically what I’m saying is that I’ve been thinking a good bit about what I won’t have this year. But within each area of my life where I will have less, there is goodness and abundance still to be had. I’m excited for the lack of “this” that will bring, fullness to “that.” Hopefully that makes some sense. It can be difficult to put thoughts in my mind into words for y’all to understand.

But hey, here’s the part where I’m seeing the positive, in what people and what I might’ve deemed before as, the negative. Clothing…I’m a pretty indecisive person so at least it will be easier to figure out what to wear each day. Also, I’m not much for clothing. Shopping is not my thing and I’m good with what I’ve got. I’m a t-shirt and jeans kinda girl, with a little plaid thrown in there (as you can see above). Not much style to sport and I’m A-Okay with that. Since I’m only gonna take a certain amount of clothing, I went through my drawers and found a good bit to donate. This year I will find out what pieces of clothing I have that I miss and which ones I do not, showing me what I can still give away.

Food…Having less food will give me the opportunity to look more closely at what I choose to eat each day, learn how to cook, and ultimately lean less on the people I have in the past. It’ll be a chance for me to grow more independently. Oooooooh, I forgot to mention earlier that I won’t have a car! As of right now, that sounds pretty darn good to me. My car (LILWITT) went kaput this year. It had a mighty, good run. I’ve been driving a mom van ever since, which gets me from point A to point B, so it’s been fine. Some of you don’t know this about me, but I’m weird about using the gas in my vehicle. If I leave the house, I want to make all the necessary stops instead of making numerous trips out. Additionally, I am all about carpooling up to the point where it’s ridiculous. Even for a trip two minutes down the road, I want to go with someone. It’s a way I save money and gas little by little. Sounds crazy, I know. Out in Denver I won’t have to worry about a car. I will be walking, biking, and riding the bus wherever I go. I’m actually excited about it because I’ve secretly always wanted to see what it would be like to live in a city where I don’t have a car. I didn’t have a car during my freshmen year at JMU, but that was different. Also, it will get me out in the fresh air (sometimes very cold air) and getting exercise!!! I hate working out, so this will be perfect for getting my body moving each day, even if it is for a little bit.

Money and stuff…Honestly, I’ve never liked money so having less of it will be interesting and telling as well. I’m not much of a spender. The only time I go do things that cost money is when someone else asks me. That’s worked out pretty well because by me not doing things, it allows for me to have the money to do things when others want to. Sorry that I used the word, things, so much (Mama Metheny wouldn’t like that). Less money will mean that I’ll learn how to budget and have an even greater appreciate for what I do have. It will teach me how some of my students’ families live on so little. Oh, and I’ll have less stuff which is honestly, totally fine. I will focus on spending time with people while taking in my surroundings. I’m going to look for the beauty of God’s creation in the Rocky Mountains as well as in the city of Denver.

So yeah, now you know a little more about the simple living that I’m looking forward to and know will present challenges. There’s a lot I don’t know about this minimalist way of life too, which will soon become my reality.

Alrighty, enough ramblin’ for one day. Peace out, y’all!


  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Contact me below by sending an email! I'd love to hear from you! 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Check out my LinkedIn
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page