top of page

How do you feel?

Stretched. Confused. Excited. Ready. Not ready???

I don’t know how I feel about this week. On the first day we were told to cross out the word, “Orientation,” and write the word, “Disorientation.” You may laugh at that, as did I when we were instructed to do so. But honestly, it’s true. I have been very confused since I got to Stony Point and continue to be in that state of mind. It’s really difficult to describe to people what we have been doing this week. I have already tried to communicate it, but it’s almost impossible. And sometimes I just don’t want to talk about it. The things we discussed this week are heavy topics that some people have possibly never talked about or even considered.

As I prepare for the next step in this year long journey, I am realizing that my mind is going to be in a constant struggle over what is right, wrong, and about how I feel. I’m going to be questioning things like never before because of what has been brought to my attention. And the answers are not always clear or may not be there at all.

This week has shown me that there’s a lot of contradiction. Everything I say has a counter part with baggage of its own. So yeah, I may seem to be talking in vague terms without much description, but that’s because sometimes I feel like this week has been that way for me. I haven’t understood everything, plus we have only begun to scratch the surface. Disorientation has been jam packed with deep thought to the point where I don’t want to think for a while. I want a break, yet I know there’s so much to come in the months ahead.

I’ve met a multitude of new people and have been trying to remember names. That’s gonna be a common theme this year…remembering names. But I’m excited to meet new people that will bring a different perspective into my life. These young adults are passionate, which is something I love encountering because it energizes me. My recent feelings have taken me back to when I was at the 221st General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church (USA) in 2014. There was passion present within that young adult group as well, making me realize that I need to wake up. The same is true now as I find that there is a ton I don’t know about what this year will entail. I’m going to feel uncomfortable like I did during General Assembly because these issues need to be paid attention, which I have not been doing.

As the year continues I will be more specific about what we discussed because Disorientation will not be the only time we take a look at what is going on in our world. It is time to head out to Denver, Colorado for my next orientation. I’m looking forward to getting to know my housemates as we settle into our apartment. Who knows if I’m ready for the city life, but it’s coming. I will be blogging a lot in the upcoming weeks because there is quite a bit to tell. There are parts of disorientation that I specifically want to talk about along with orientation in Denver. Anyways, thank you to everyone out there for your love in support in this adventure. Your prayers are appreciated! Oh, and emails as well!

Alrighty, enough ramblin’ for one day. Peace out, y’all!


  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Contact me below by sending an email! I'd love to hear from you! 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Check out my LinkedIn
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page