top of page

More Than Just A Piece Of Art


I hear the sound of public transportation ringing its horn and the rolling of a skateboard on the sidewalk. Between the ding-ding and constant rumble noise of the wheels on each section of the concrete, I'm reminded of Enrique's Journey. I recall how the story unfolds, describing the risk migrants take by jumping onto trains during their travels towards the border. This is the only interaction I've consciously had with the concept of immigration, yet there is so much more to come.

I sit in front of this sculpture and wonder what it means. Pieces of the actual border stand tall in front of me. Too tall to see beyond, if I stand to one side or another. Too solid to look through, unless I peer closely through the slight cracks. Too firm in the ground so that it can't be moved. And yet, here it is. It's been moved, showing that the border doesn't have to stay.

Two sets of people push on both sides, possibly unsure whether the others are doing the same. On the one side a person shoves at the wall with their shoulder and another uses everything in them to push on the wall. It looks like a power stance, with

both arms firmly pushing and one leg bent to give a push off the ground. The other leg is outstretched for support. Along the opposing side, one person leans all their weight against the wall with their back, creating an acute angle. It's partner on the same side includes someone who is pushing how you would open a door.

As I look at both sides, I notice people directly opposite one another and putting about the same effort into the wall. This creates a wall that continues standing vertical to the ground at 90 degrees. There seems to be no give from either side. People on ​both sides are represented by human bone structure, eliminating skin color, gender, or any other representations that would exhibit onlookers to categorize. People-both fighting to make the wall move, yet nothing is happening.

Here I am contemplating, as I sit and stare at the sculpture.

I'm frustrated, confused, annoyed, and glad to be sitting here. It's a privilege for me to become a part of this discussion without fearing for my life or my family's lives, but knowing that's a reality for so many people. This image has simply been recreated, but it has such an impact on my thinking. How would it be to live near this structure or experience what it's like to see that wall and really feel the effects of it in actual day to day life? What next? What can I do? How do I pass on the knowledge I'm gaining while still having so many questions of my own? What can I encourage others to do?

I can easily go from one side to another, no problem at all...how ironic...

Taller Yonke (Guadalupe Serrano and Alberto Morackis)-"Border Dynamics" 2003, installed 2005 at the University of Arizona

Alrighty, y'all. Enough ramblin' for one day. Peace out!


  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Contact me below by sending an email! I'd love to hear from you! 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Check out my LinkedIn
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page