top of page

One Turned Back

On the way to Jerusalem Jesus was going through the region between Samaria and Galilee. As he entered a village, ten lepers approached him. Keeping their distance, they called out, saying, “Jesus, Master, have mercy on us!” When he saw them, he said to them, “Go and show yourselves to the priests.” And as they went, they were made clean. Then one of them, when he saw that he was healed, turned back, praising God with a loud voice. He prostrated himself at Jesus’ feet and thanked him. And he was a Samaritan. Then Jesus asked, “Were not ten made clean? But the other nine, where are they? Was none of them found to return and give praise to God except this foreigner?” Then he said to him, “Get up and go on your way; your faith has made you well.” Luke 17:11-19, New Revised Standard Version

Ten Lepers by Bill Hoover, 2013

Remember that story of the 10 lepers and how none of them thanked Jesus...except for one...just one. He turned back and expressed his gratitude! I'll admit that I often find myself being one of those 9 lepers who didn't say thank you. Sometimes it seems silly to say thank you for those tiny things that people do for us. But imagine if we always said thank you to those who are there for us. Now, now...don't go around and say thank you without actually meaning it. That'd be ridiculous. But imagine if our thanks in small situations translated into those big situations, like the healing that Jesus performed. Sometimes we get caught up in our wants and needs. We become satisfied with the place or state we are in, forgetting to thank whoever got us there.

Anyways, I was at work the other day with lots going on. It sure was a busy one. Nonetheless, it was a great one too as I was able to interact with a good number of clients. I spent a considerable amount of time with one particular man, who wasn't sure exactly where he was going for an appointment later on. After assisting him, he left and I continued to meet with other people coming into my office. But the greatest thing happened later that day. That client who I had met with for a while...he returned and thanked me! And let me tell you something-this was hours later in the day. He came into my office with immense gratitude for the way I had assisted him. I was not having a bad day; it was just a normal one, but that was enough to make it an extraordinary day. This client had thanked me for doing something so small for him and it reminded me to pass that thankfulness on to those who help me day in and day out.

We don't always remember to say thank you or sometimes we think about it way after the fact. Oh well! It's important to let people know how they make us feel, even if it's a bit late. Better late than never...as the saying goes. This year has taught me a lot already, especially what I need to be more grateful for. One little thing I can think of is how my parents always encouraged me to write thank you notes when I was growing up. I'm not gonna lie...when I was younger it was an annoying task. But just like a lot of other things, I'm going to soon see that what my parents taught me is very important. So shoutout to them for being awesome like that because I don't tell them enough and once again, better late than never!

Within all of this, I also realized that I don't thank God enough for what I'm given and how He works through the people around me. He is the ultimate one to express my gratitude to, even when I forget to thank individual people. However, we should all try to take a second to thank that bus driver for taking us to school/work/wherever, the waiter or waitress for getting us that extra whatever we asked for, friends for being there for us, and whoever else we come in contact with. And let us also keep in mind Paul's prayer to the Philippians when he wrote, "I thank my God every time I remember you, constantly praying with joy in every one of my prayers for all of you..." Philippians 1:3-4 (New Revised Standard Version). Take that verse into consideration, thanking God for each person in your life. That is my prayer as I continue out of the Thanksgiving season and into the days ahead.

By the way...thanks for reading my blog, sending me encouraging notes, supporting me, and praying for me. Now go write some thank you notes!

Alrighty, y'all. Enough ramblin' for one day. Peace out!


  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Contact me below by sending an email! I'd love to hear from you! 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Check out my LinkedIn
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page