top of page

Bad Day.

Sometimes you have a bad day or maybe it's a few bad days. Denver has presented challenges, the same as any place would. Most of them have simply taken slight adjustments or more openness on my part. No big deal. Specifically, work has had its ups and downs. It's tough for me to see the situations that people are in, but I also think about how difficult it must be for them to actually live in those situations...where everyday seems like a bad day...

Every time a client sits down in front of me I ask them, "How are you doing?" I wonder how I might answer that question if the roles were reversed. Sometimes people are happy to respond, while others are not. I can't blame them for reacting in any certain way. A bad day for the person sitting in front of me is not the same as one of my bad days. The stories I hear include all sorts of emotions. Clients have rejoiced in my presence and some have shed tears.

Each client carries so much "baggage" with them and at times, they want to "unload" some of that. I've learned over the years how powerful a listening ear can be. My position is one

of total flexibility in which I must be able to jump from one task to another with only a moment's notice. I try to get things done in a timely manner, but sometimes it is necessary for me to take a step back when someone opens up. The pause button is on as I sit back, taking in the words the client shares with me.

Yes, our lives are different and yet, we each have experienced those unnerving times when things don't go right. And last week, some things certainly did not go right. I became confused, frustrated, upset, and relieved. So many emotions. Work challenged me like nothing has ever done before. It demanded that I experience a bad day. And I know I'm not the only one who has questioned, "Why me? How come this is happening with me here?" Those "why" questions can be dangerous, but also a very good thing. I say that because these questions do not always lead to answers. That's the tough part, but the good part is that further questions can flow out from there. And you know what, I'll probably be asking those "why" questions for a while. But that is just fine.

Even though I had a bad day, I learned some things about myself. How do I react in situations when I'm under pressure? How do I take a bad day into consideration, but still make the next day a good one? How can I make sure my bad day does not affect other people in a negative way? As you can tell, my "why" questions have begun to transform into "how" questions as I step into each new day. I have already realized that my single bad day can be the equivalent of a lifetime for some of my clients. I'm allowed to have a bad day and so are you. I'm not trying to tell you to only have positive emotions.

However, I'm looking to keep it all in perspective as I continue forward in the days ahead. This will not be the only time when I experience a challenge.

So if you think you've had a bad day, then consider reflecting with some "why's" and "how's." Make sure to remember that you are not the only one who has had a bad day and that sometimes your bad day is someone else's reality.

Alrighty, enough ramblin' for one day. Peace out, y'all!


  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Contact me below by sending an email! I'd love to hear from you! 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Check out my LinkedIn
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page