top of page

True Story.

As most of you know, I went on an amazing spiritual journey called, Qwest West. For about two weeks I camped throughout the Western United States with 14 people. We hiked in various National Parks and got to know each other as we spent just about 24/7 together. I haven't blogged in a while and decided one of the easiest ways to describe my trip is to tell you a few, or a lot of simple, but true stories. So much more than this happened but nonetheless, here we go...

True story.

I meditated and prayed within the Church of the Holy Cross in Sedona, Arizona.

I learned to not sleep up against the side of the tent unless you want to get soaked through a few layers of your clothes.

We worshipped at the rim of the Grand Canyon as the sun rose.

I watched the mules walk past me in the Grand Canyon and knew that one day I would want to be one of the people riding them.

We washed each other’s feet on the rim of the Grand Canyon.

I got covered in sand as I walked through Antelope Canyon, which is probably one of your desktop backgrounds pictures.

I took a shower in two minutes. ..and then added a few more quarters because I still had shampoo in my hair.

I chopped tomatoes in 28 degree weather.

I “slept” in Bryce Canyon National Park in 28 degree weather.

On that same night I learned that when ya gotta go in cold weather, ya gotta go so I peed at 3a.m. despite my frozen body.

I stood in the bathroom for 20 minutes after peeing so that I could have some relief from the cold.

I cooked a sink full of grilled cheese for our group on a propane stove.

I wrapped my arms around the Redwood Trees of Big Sur.

I watched the sunrise at Lake Powell because I was awake, and it was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen.

My breath was taken away at Bryce Canyon after my blindfold was removed.

I went on a hike that required me to hang on to chains bolted into the side of Hidden Canyon in Zion National Park.

Four skunks surrounded us at the campground in California, the day before we went to Disneyland.

I conquered my fear of roller coasters at Disneyland.

I ate the largest ice cream sundae I’ve ever ordered, with two chocolate chip cookies.

Five of us and a stranger rode the flume, producing just about the best snap shot on a ride that could ever be captured.

I saw how much of a need there is in the city of San Francisco.

I saw the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco and, “was sure to wear some flowers in my hair.”

I walked through China Town in San Francisco and ate at a restaurant there.

I drank a chocolate milk shake at Ghirardelli Square.

I laughed as the sea lions played down by Fisherman’s Wharf.

We took Boomerangs any chance that we could get.

I gave our extra food away as we left campgrounds.

We walked through Las Vegas and hated it.

I walked right by tons of deer and squirrels without them flinching one bit.

We served one another communion on the cliffs of the Pacific Coast Highway 1.

I had cake by the Ocean.

I ate 7 pieces of pizza at Yosemite.

I star gazed in Yosemite National Park and saw some shooting stars along with satellites fly through the sky, which made me feel as if I was in JMU’s planetarium.

I got more than dampened by the falls in Yosemite, making me think I was at Niagra Falls on Maid of the Mist.

I bought a pack of three tshirts at Yosemite because, why not?

I slept out under the stars, gazing up at them until I fell asleep.

I ate a wrap full of peanut butter and trail mix. (Y’all know I like mixing my food, but this was not my idea).

I was told that one day I would miss the crammed back seat of that van. (Guess what...I already miss it!)

I sat by Lake Tahoe and read letters that people wrote me, crying as I realized all that this trip and so many people mean to me.

I learned that a picture may be worth a thousand words, but sometimes it is better to simply take a mental snapshot when you’re in the moment.

I learned how to be a good steward of God’s creation.

True story.

Peace out, y'all.


  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Contact me below by sending an email! I'd love to hear from you! 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Check out my LinkedIn
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page