top of page

Think SMART

So all you teachers out there probably know what a SMART Goal is but for those of you who don't, it stands for...Specific, Measurable, Attainable/Achievable, Realistic, and Time-Based. This is something I've created many times throughout my college career because I had to. Haha. I do see the benefits of a SMART Goal, but they can be annoying. In education we are always told to reflect. By the end of the semester I always say to my friends, "If they ask us to reflect just one more time..." Yes, reflecting is important. I know. But once again, it can be annoying. I know some of you out there feel the same way I do. And then there are those of you who are so unbelievably good at reflecting. I'm trying to get better at reflecting and seeing the extreme importance in it. Some of you are great examples for me.

Shoutout to Riana Wilhelm! Because I don't know anyone better than her at reflecting. Let me tell you, she is always reaching for another goal and bettering herself so she can make a difference in the lives of those around her. What a champ right there. If you know her, then you are nodding your head in agreement with me. Thanks go to her for helping me realize all that reflecting can do and can lead to.

So these SMART Goals...Well you know, I suppose I've had some pretty darn good professors down at that good ole JMU because I made a SMART Goal on this trip without even realizing it. When I did, it was another one of those..."Rebekah laughing at herself" moments. That happens quite often, if you haven't caught on. But yeah, I made a SMART Goal. And I even self-reflected and noticed that I needed to update my goal. GASP! I really must have gotten this stuff hammered into my brain. Good job to my JMU professors for sure.

Originally, I was going to try to get each student in my class to feel confident enough to stand up and speak in English. There was more to it, but I will spare you the details just this one time. My goal needed to be changed as it was not going to meet all the requirements of the lovely "SMART" acronym. You will see in future posts why this goal was unrealistic. So now my goal is kinda simple, but it also makes sense. I'm still not sure if my new goal is exactly meeting all the standards of the acronym but either way, progress is being made within me and within my students. Outwardly and inwardly. I've seen changes in attitudes, work ethics, confidence levels, curiousity, skill sets, team work, and more. It is fantastic. And let me tell you, I couldn't be doing any of this without the help of God. Keep praying as we continue to teach and also share the gospel indirectly and directly with so many here.

I'm excited to share some of my experiences in the classroom with you in upcoming posts. It has definitely been challenging and rewarding. I don't think one comes without the other. As Vince Lombardi said, "The only place where success comes before work is in the dictionary." That is my brother Joel's favorite quote. And this week I will be showing my students how to use a dictionary as we finish up teaching so this has been running through my mind.

By the way, HAKUNA MATATA. We showed The Lion King one evening as an extra activity and 108 people came to see it! Adults and children! I sang my heart out. If you don't know this about me...I LOVE THE LION KING!!! It was a good time. My students laughed at me haha. That movie relates to every aspect of life. Go back and watch it.

Alrighty ya'll enough ramblin' for tonight. It's nearing my bed time. Peace out.


  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Contact me below by sending an email! I'd love to hear from you! 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Check out my LinkedIn
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page