top of page

Can it rain any harder...Yes it can!

Sorry for the delay on blog posts. I will try to update more frequently now. My posts may be out of order because I really want to tell you all about today and then I'll catch ya'll up on other things like traveling, food, facilities, church, and teaching! So here goes...

I don't think many people can say that they have been mud bogging with a pastor...but hey, I can! Kes Ayana drove his Toyota truck through all that mud and rain. He never got stuck either. Such a pro. I'm glad I had a front row seat to see all his skills be put to the test on the back roads of Gore. Kes Ayana also oversees the Gore Orphanage, which we got to visit today. Shoutout to my Opequon Presbyterian Church Family and all others who sponsor children at the orphanage! Love and miss you all!

Well I do believe I can cross one more thing off of my bucket list by going mud bogging! We had quite the adventure. We went into what seemed like the rain forrest. Our group got to see the coffee and tea plantation too. However, it rained and it rained and it rained. And just when I thought it couldn't possibly rain any harder, it did. Good thing I had just bought a good rain jacket or I woulda been outta luck. Although, Kes Amena offered me his umbrella. Now if you know me well enough, then you know that I really don't like umbrellas. It's something extra to carry and why use it when I have a good ole JMU camo hat with a rain jacket???!!! Also, people who carry umbrellas often don't pay attention to where they are going. Have you noticed this? Think about it. They hold them down in front of their faces and expect people to get out of the way. ANNOYING. Haha. Back to my little story here...so, I tried to politely refuse the umbrella. But Kes Amena said, "Your father told me I had to take care of the team so that's what I'm doing." Papa Witt watching out for us even when we are miles across the world from him. Okay, you got me. I smiled, laughed, took the umbrella, and said..."Yep, sounds about right!" But that's not it. As I continued walking, I realized that the dagone umbrella was none other than blue and orange. Figures. I was carrying the perfect umbrella for advertising UVA. My brother, Ryan, would be so proud. And Keith McMurdo too! The only thing I liked about the umbrella was that it was plaid. So I dealt with it. It also kept me dry, although I hate to admit it. So yeah, I'm often reminded of people back home through little things that happen. You're welcome.

Wow, back to the rest of the day...We rode in the truck and jeep in the muddy ruts of the woods. The mud continued to build up, making it more difficult for our drivers to continue onward. But we didn't stop. Until, the jeep got stuck. Kes Ayana hooked the rope up to his truck while others dug and put rocks down. It took a good while before that jeep came free.

When the jeep was stuck, we got out and treked over to a little shack. It was a little over a half mile from our vehicles. The slopes were slippery and we often offered one another a hand for stability. We crossed two bridges. These are no ordinary bridges. They are branches from trees that no longer have any leaves on them, put over the rushing water, and tied together with twigs. I aplogize for my lack of pictures on this blog post. They will come though! As we walked along, the branches moved and gave beneath our feet. To me, it felt like I might fall in. Never fear, we made it! In the shack, we were offered bananas. I pulled one off of the stalk, which had bunches of them. It tasted very sweet, unlike the bananas at home. We were given another to eat. Ya'll I just wanna say that this was already my third banana of the day and it was only 10 or 11 in the morning. We eat bananas all the time here. They are very abundant haha. So you pretty much have to like them, which I definitely do! I will talk more about food in other posts. Our walk back was still very rainy, but also beautiful. The countryside was so green! Cattle stood in the fields and we passed sugar cane, coffee, tea, mint, ginger, bananas, and more.

Driving in the mud felt similar to driving in snow or being on an amusement park ride. The truck slid from side to side. I bounced around with my butt often coming off of the seat. It was very important to hold on. I also realized that I should keep my window rolled up unless I wanted a mouth full of mud and a tree branch in my face. Honestly, I had a great time. The drivers said that they always get stuck in the mud. It was something that was not new at all. But for me, it was an adventure. We wanted to help them get the jeep out but they said, "It is our mud and our rain, so it is our problem to deal with." Haha well alrighty then. Sounds like the Ethiopian hospitality that is constantly surrounding us.

Each and every day here I am amazed by what people do and say. Today I learned that I will never complain about another pot hole in the road. Today I learned that I need to pace myself on eating bananas. Today I learned that even if conditions are poor, a roof over someone's head makes a huge difference. Today I learned that some pastors are also professional mud boggers. Today I learned that maybe umbrellas aren't so bad after all. Ah, who am I kidding? They're still the worst. Today I learned that when it rains, it really does pour. But, God is at work. He is in all places and in everything. God is watching over the orphanage. He has a plan. I have to remind myself of that as I continue to see so many areas of Ethiopia that need help and also those that are doing just fine. "Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God." Philippians 4:6. Keep praying ya'll, as I am also! Shoutout to Mama Witt for sending some cards in my suitcase! She put this verse in and it really keeps me going. Thanks!

I'm really enjoying this country and community. So much, that I can't wait to share all of my experiences. I've been journaling so that I don't forget things that I want to post on my blog. Please know that I keep ya'll in my prayers. The days are flying by and I don't always get to check my email but I enjoy any messages that I receive. The next blog post will be better, I promise. Things have been crazy busy here.


  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Contact me below by sending an email! I'd love to hear from you! 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Check out my LinkedIn
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page