top of page

Are you ready???

Another blog filling up your newsfeed on Facebook. Sorry, y’all! I’ve had many people tell me that I need a way to get my thoughts out during all of my upcoming experiences. Well, boy do I have a lot of thoughts. If any of you have had the pleasure of really getting to know me, then you also know that there are times that I literally can’t stop talking. I have so many stories to tell. So many details to share. So many simple joys that I want to give to others.

I’m warning you ahead of time that this blog won’t be grammatically correct (even though Mama Metheny will be reading it haha). It will be similar to how my thought process goes. That means instead of logically going from one thing to the next, I will jump around. I will go back to something that I mentioned near the beginning of the post even though that thought should be over and done with. I want this blog to read like you are with me and listening to my super duper long stories. And if you get tired of reading, then stop.

This blog is for people to stay connected with what I’m up to and for me to just let out my thoughts. I know people won’t read the whole thing or some may not read any of it. But words can be a powerful thing. As one of my favorite Hawk Nelson songs says, “Words can build us up, Words can break us down, Start a fire in our hearts, Or put it out.” So here are my words that I hope you get a little something out of…

People have constantly been asking me if I’m ready for my trip. And sometimes my first reaction is, what trip??? Honestly, I haven’t given a whole lot of thought to my trip that is taking me overseas, into Africa, and to the land of Ethiopia to teach English. I know I should have been thinking about this, but to me there hasn’t been much time. But as this week progresses, I’m realizing that I need to wrap my head around what is about to happen. I need to get ready. I need to pack. I need to make lesson plans. However, I am a procrastinator. I know this about myself and yet it is so hard to change. It isn’t until I absolutely have to get ready that I become ridiculously motivated. And then I run. Through the house. Around my room. And everywhere else I need to go in order to fully get ready. So I’ve started running. As the wise Rafiki said in Lion King, “It is time.” Heck yeah it is, Rafiki! He knows all! I’ve got to get a move on. My room is a mess with clothes, shoes, notebooks, etc. I’m in the stage of physically getting ready, which is definitely important. But I also need to mentally prepare. I’m not too sure how to do this. I guess part of that would be thinking about how at

this time next week I really will be in Ethiopia. It won’t be a far-fetched thought. It will be a reality. I won’t be roaming around in the good ole Harrisonburg, at JMU, or in the Pink House. I won’t be able to just call up my family whenever my heart desires. I won’t be able to go visit my Nana. I won’t be able to go chill at Opequon Presbyterian Church, one of my absolute favorite places to JUST BE. Speaking of church, I also have to spiritually prepare for this experience. God has provided me with this wonderful opportunity to go teach in another part of the world. I’m not sure that I feel ready. But I know that God will be with me wherever I go and in whatever I do. He will equip me in due time. It’s all part of a grander plan, which I’m often reminded of by some of y’all out there.

So what can you do while I’m on my trip for four weeks??? There are actually a number of things you can do while I’m gone…

  • PRAY without ceasing. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

I believe there is power in prayer. And the team I’m a part of is gonna need your prayers. Through our times of traveling, teaching, and preaching. I will be praying too as each and every one one of us needs to continually pray and thank God for all that He has given us in good times and bad. I will pray for all of you back home as you go about your days getting into all sorts of wonderful things.

  • LOVE on my family since I won’t be here to do that.

Seriously, somebody has got to give my mama big hugs, back rubs, and constantly thank her for all her never-ending, hard work at home and church. Seriously, somebody has got to give my papa two thumbs up with a smile on your face after each sermon he preaches because they really are that great. Seriously, somebody has got to workout in the yard with Joel while simultaneously complaining out the wazoo so that he just looks at you, shaking his head. Seriously, somebody has got to sit down with Susan and talk to her for four hours straight about nonsense while she still smiles and offers a listening ear. Seriously, somebody has got to send Ryan texts every now and again that you think he will find funny when in actuality, they probably aren’t. Seriously, somebody has got to visit Nana and tell her about all my adventures and blow her a kiss as you leave her for another day.

  • FIND your own adventure while I’m gone!

This does not have to be some outrageous, crazy adventure either. It could literally be calling up a friend that you haven’t talked to in a while. I am not one to talk on the phone, unless it’s with my family. So honestly, calling someone would be an adventure for me. Or…you could go SKYDIVING! Actually, wait to do that when I get back because I’ll definitely go with you! But really, do something awesome.

  • TELL me about your adventures.

I want to hear about everything going on because I want to know what everyone is up to! Shoot me an email! (lilwitt02@yahoo.com) I want to stay connected to y’all back home or wherever you may be. Granted, I won’t be able to read them every day but when I get a chance, I will be sure to take in every word!

  • SUPPORT me finiancially.

Every trip comes with expenses...we all know that. If you feel called to support me financially on my journey to Ethiopia, then please do so by sending these to my home address. Those of you reading this most likely know my address. If not, please email me or talk with my parents. Please do not feel like you need to give anything. All I ask is that you keep me and the rest of the team in your thoughts and prayers. Thanks, y'all!

  • READ my blog if you so desire.

Yeah, you really don’t have to do this one at all. But it’d be kinda cool if you did, I guess. Haha.

Cool beans y'all, enough rambling for one day.

~Peace out~


  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Contact me below by sending an email! I'd love to hear from you! 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Check out my LinkedIn
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page